• Home
  • Expo 2010 Shanghai China
  • Hong Kong at Expo 2010
  • Hong Kong Pavilion
  • UBPA Exhibition
  • Event Calendar
  • Information Centre
  • Sponsorship
  • Multimedia Zone
  • RSS
HK@Expo Youtube Channel Youku Expo 2010 Shanghai China Hong Kong Government Brand Hong Kong
Our Connectivity
Connected: Ideas, Information and Diversity

Come and learn about how the free flow of ideas, information, news, views, capital and people are all interconnected to create the world's freest economy, where East blends with West to create a free, open and tolerant society that's fully plugged into the global village.

media covering events

Hong Kong has about 32,000 creative industry-related establishments with over 176,000 practitioners, in fields ranging from jewellery design to fashion, painting to interactive games, and making music to making films.

newsstand

Hong Kong's print media scene is among the most vibrant in the world. At end-December 2009, there were 46 newspapers including 21 Chinese, 13 English, seven bilingual and five in other languages; and 640 periodicals, of which 429 were in Chinese, 94 in English, 105 bilingual and 12 in other languages. Magazines cover a wide range of subjects from public affairs to technical matters and entertainment.

About 90 international media organisations have offices in Hong Kong, which is the regional base for major international publications and news organisations such as The Financial Times, The Wall Street Journal Asia, International Herald Tribune, USA Today International, Nihon Keizai Shimbun, the Far Eastern Economic Review, TIME Asia, CNN International, Agence France-Press and Bloomberg News.

media covering events

An unrestricted flow of information and ideas is a vital factor for Hong Kong's success and allows Hong Kong to be one of the world's most free and open economies.

Satellites

Hong Kong is a global communications hub with excellent communications infrastructure. With widespread use and application of the latest technology systems, the city has built a communications network that is second to none, enabling people to keep in touch wherever they are. Hong Kong was the first major city in the world to have a fully digitised telephone network and to implement operator number portability.

By December 2009, Hong Kong had a fixed-line household penetration rate of 101.8 per cent. The number of subscribers to cellular phones was 12 million, a penetration rate of about 173.7 per cent — one of the highest in the world. Among them, over 3.8 million subscribers were 3G service customers.

In addition, virtually all households and commercial buildings are covered by the broadband network. As at December 2009, there were more than 2 million registered customer accounts for broadband Internet access services, of which the speed ranged from a few Mbps to 1 000 Mbps. Broadband household penetration rate is 81.4 per cent, one of the highest in the world. As at December 2009, over 1.17 million households subscribed to Internet Protocol TV services.

Wi Fi

Public Wi-Fi services are provided by both the Government and private sector, with nearly 8 800 wi-fi hotspots operational across the city.

Banks in Central
stock exchange

Hong Kong is an international financial centre with an integrated network of financial institutions and markets.

There are no restrictions on capital flows into or out of Hong Kong.

At the end of 2009, Hong Kong had 145 licensed banks, of which 135 were incorporated outside Hong Kong. Of the world's top 100 banks, 69 had operations in the HKSAR, while a further 71 foreign banks have representative offices. The banking sector's external assets are among the largest in the world.

Hong Kong has a mature and active foreign exchange market, which is an integral part of the global market and was the world's sixth largest center for foreign exchange trading, according to the 2007 triennial global survey by the Bank for International Settlements.

Hong Kong's stock market is one of the world's largest in terms of market capitalisation. At end 2009, 1,319 public companies were listed on the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited main board and Growth Enterprise Market with a total market capitalisation of $17,874 billion (US$2,304.6 billion), making it the third largest in Asia and the seventh largest in the world.

legal system

The HKSAR has a tried and trusted legal system based on the English common law and underpinned by an independent judiciary. Under the 'one country, two systems' principle, the HKSAR maintains its own legal system separate to that in the Mainland.

A key element in the HKSAR's continued success is its judicial system, which operates on the principle — fundamental to the common law system — of independence from the executive and legislative branches of government. The courts make their own judgments, whether disputes before them involve private citizens, corporate bodies or the Government itself. The Court of Final Appeal (CFA) is the highest appellate court in the HKSAR, and is headed by the Chief Justice.

people of different races

Hong Kong is Asia's world city – a free, open, tolerant and cosmopolitan society where people of all races, nationalities and creeds can live in harmony, celebrate their own cultures, and contribute to the development of society.

• 主頁
  • 2010年上海世博會
  • 香港在世博會
  • 香港館
  • 城市最佳實踐區展覽
  • 節目表
  • 資訊中心
  • 贊助
  • 多媒體區

  • RSS
HK@Expo Youtube Channel Youku 中國2010年上海世博會官方網站 香港政府一站通 香港品牌形象
我們的連繫
連系:意念、資訊、多元

來看看香港怎樣把自由流通的創意、資訊、新聞、意見、資金和人流連系起來,打造出全球最自由的經濟體系,成為自由、開放及包容的城市,融匯東西,與地球村無縫連接。

時裝表演

香港設計界人才輩出,全港有近32 000家與創意產業有關的公司,共176 000人在設計行業工作。香港在珠寶首飾、品牌時裝、互動游戲,以至音樂及電影制作上,都有出色表現。

報攤

香港的印刷傳媒業發展蓬勃,在世界上數一數二。

截至2009年12月底,本港有46份報章和640份期刊。 報章之中,21份屬中文,13份屬英文,七份屬雙語,五份用其他語文印行。期刊有429份屬中文,94份屬英文,105份屬雙語,12份用其他語文印行。雜志內容,由公共事務以至專門知識和娛樂消息,題材包羅萬有。

約90家國際傳媒機構在香港設立辦事處。香港是主要國際刊物和新聞機構的地區業務基地,其中包括《金融時報》、《亞洲華爾街日報》、《國際先驅論壇報》、《今日美國》國際版、《日本經濟新聞》、《遠東經濟評論》、《時代周刊》(亞太英文版)、有線全國新聞網絡(國際頻道)、法新社及彭博新聞等。

傳媒報道活動

香港成就卓越,是世界上最自由開放的經濟體系,資訊和意念的流通無阻居功至偉。

人造衛星

香港是全球通訊樞紐,通訊基建十分健全。香港廣泛應用最先進的科技及資訊系統,建成無與倫比的通訊網絡,縮短人與人之間的距離。

香港也是全球首個採用全面數碼化電話網絡,並實施可攜性電話號碼的大城市。

截至2009年12月,全港固網住宅用戶的普及率為101.8%。流動電話服務的用戶總數達1 200萬,普及率約為173.7%,為世界流動電話最高普及率的城市之一,其中超過260萬為第三代流動通訊服務用戶。

此外,互聯網寬頻網絡已覆蓋差不多所有住宅及商業樓宇。截至2009年12月,本港共有超過200萬個使用寬頻(寬帶)上網服務的注冊用戶帳號,寬頻上網用戶的普及率為81.4%,屬世界寬頻上網最普及的地區之一。截至2009年12月,本港共有超過117萬家寬頻電視用戶。

無線上網

政府和私營機構都提供公共的無線上網服務,境內運作的無線上網熱點近8 800個。

中環的銀行
交易所

香港是國際金融中心,金融機構和市場緊密聯系,資金進出不受限制。

截至2009年底,香港共有145家持牌銀行,其中135家在香港境外注冊。在全球100家最大的銀行之中,69家在港有業務,另有71家外地銀行在香港設有代表辦事處。香港銀行的對外資產總值,世界數一數二。

香港的外匯市場發展完善,買賣活躍,在全球外匯市場中佔有重要席位。根據國際結算銀行在2007年進行的每三年一度全球調查,香港外匯市場的成交額在世界排行第六位。

香港股票市場在亞洲及世界分別排名第三及第七。截至2009年底,在香港交易及結算所有限公司主板和創業板挂牌的上市公司有1 319間,資本市值總額達178,740億元(23,046億美元)。

司法制度

香港沿用以英國普通法為基礎的法制,行之有效,深受信賴。根據“一國兩制”的原則,香港特別行政區維持其固有的法律制度,與內地的法制截然不同。

香港特別行政區多年來成就卓越,屢創佳績,關鍵在於司法制度按普通法法制的基本原則運作,司法機關獨立,不受制於行政和立法機關。無論糾紛是涉及個人、法人團體還是政府,法庭都會獨立作出裁決。終審法院是香港特別行政區最高的上訴法院,以首席法官為首。

不同族裔人士

香港是亞洲國際都會,社會自由開放,互相包容和富有多元文化特色,不同種族、國籍和信仰的人士融洽共處生活,各自慶祝其宗教文化節目,一起為社會作出貢獻。