• Home
  • Expo 2010 Shanghai China
  • Hong Kong at Expo 2010
  • Hong Kong Pavilion
  • UBPA Exhibition
  • Event Calendar
  • Information Centre
  • Sponsorship
  • Multimedia Zone
  • RSS
HK@Expo Youtube Channel Youku Expo 2010 Shanghai China Hong Kong Government Brand Hong Kong
News Highlights

DC chairmen and vice chairmen to visit Shanghai and Suzhou

The Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Tsang Tak-sing, and a delegation of District Council (DC) chairmen and vice chairmen will leave Hong Kong for Shanghai on June 4.

Upon completion of the programme in Shanghai, the delegation will set off for Suzhou on June 6 and return to Hong Kong on June 7.

Altogether 33 DC chairmen and vice chairmen will join the visit. The Chairman of Tuen Mun District Council, Mr Lau Wong-fat, and the Chairman of Eastern District Council, Ms Christina Ting Yuk-chee, are the leader and deputy leader of the delegation respectively, while the Legislative Council member representing the District Council functional constituency, Mr Ip Kwok-him, is the honorary advisor.

The delegation will call on Shanghai and Jiangsu leaders, and tour local communities and infrastructure, including the Yangshan deep-water port, Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Centre, China-Singapore Suzhou Industrial Park and Suzhou Museum. A visit will also be made to World Expo 2010 Shanghai China.

"As an important partner of the Government in district administration, the District Councils have been making great contributions to district administration. The visit will enable the delegation to gain insights into developments in both Shanghai and Suzhou, which will be useful to the District Councils in the discharge of their duties in district administration," Mr Tsang said. He is also the Honourable head of the delegation.

"We also hope to facilitate communication and exchanges at different levels among Shanghai, Suzhou and Hong Kong. The visit to the Shanghai Expo will also enhance the District Councils' understanding of new ideas on urban developments around the world," he added.

The Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Raymond Young, and the Director of Home Affairs, Mrs Pamela Tan, will also join the tour as the honorary leader and honorary deputy leader of the delegation respectively.